Primary voters will find choices on two ballots
by Mike Eldred
Aug 21, 2014 | 3008 views | 0 0 comments | 42 42 recommendations | email to a friend | print
DEERFIELD VALLEY- Vermont has four major political parties – Republican, Democratic, Progressive, and Liberty Union – but only Republican and Democratic voters will see contested races on ballots in Tuesday’s primary.

Valley voters will find few Republicans facing opposition in local primary races, but there’s plenty of competition in statewide races. Three Republicans, Mark Donka, of Hartford; Donald W. Nolte, of Derby; and Donald Russell, of Shelburne are vying for their party’s nomination for representative to Congress. The winner will challenge incumbent Democrat Peter Welch in November.

In the primary race for governor, incumbent Democrat Peter Shumlin, of East Montpelier, is facing a primary challenge from fellow Democrat H. Brooke Paige, of Washington. Paige is also challenging incumbent Democrat William Sorrell for the party’s nomination for Vermont Attorney General.

Also in the gubernatorial primary, three Republicans: Steve Berry, of Wolcott; Scott Milne, of Pomfret; and Emily Peyton, of Putney, are squaring off for their party’s nomination for the state’s top office.

Locally, most of the competition is on the Democratic Party primary ballot. Windham County Democratic Party primary voters will choose two of four candidates for their party’s bid for state senator. Roger Allbee, of Townshend; Becca Balint, of Brattleboro; and Joan Bowman, of Putney; and incumbent Jeanette White are seeking the nomination.

Bennington Democratic Party voters will see three hopefuls for state senate on their ballot, Christopher Bray, of New Haven; Brian Campion, of Bennington; and incumbent Senator Dick Sears, of North Bennington.

Voters can vote by absentee ballot at their town clerk’s office up until close of business on Monday, August 25, or at the polls on Tuesday, August 26.

Deerfield Valley polling places and times:

• Dover: 10 am to 7 pm at Dover Town Hall

• Halifax: 10 am to 7 pm at the Halifax School gymnasium

• Readsboro: 10 am to 7 pm at Readsboro Central School

• Searsburg: 10 am to 7 pm at the Searsburg Town Office

• Stamford: 10 am to 7 pm at Stamford School hall

• Wardsboro: 9 am to 7 pm at the Wardsboro Town Office

• Whitingham: 10 am to 7 pm at the Whitingham Municipal

Center in Jacksonville

• Wilmington: 7 am to 7 pm at the former Twin Valley High

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet